Global Book Club, World at Lunch, Gown meets Town and Devon Globe Trotters.

Every Thursday lunchtime (when there is not an evening event) we share thoughts on what’s happening in the world ... often based on relevant magazine or newspaper articles.

While this is not possible physically we meeting virtually via Zoom - if you would like to join us please email  dde@globalcentredevon.org.uk for details.

Saturday 24 Sep 2022, 11:00

Cricket Match 24 09 22 min

Windrush Caribbean Cricket Festival - Saturday 24th September at Exmouth Cricket Club

Come and play, come and watch, come and enjoy West Indian food by Fancy That Caribbean and DJ Set from Somatic.

11am - 1pm Fun activities for young and old - have a go at quick cricket, how fast can you bowl and more!
1pm - 2pm Lunch break
2pm - 6pm Twenty20 cricket match with teams from the South West
6pm - 8pm Social with great music and tasty food

Food will be available to buy at lunchtime and in the evening and the Club tearoom can serve tea and coffee throughout the afternoon

To join one of the T20 teams, please email dde@globalcentredevon.org.uk

Book via www.eventbrite.co.uk/e/394254314267 - this is a free event but donations are welcome.

Climate Crisis

Academic year 2022 we have set up a resources page for each term

Summer Term Creative Ways to fight the Climate Crisis

Spring Term Resilience in the Age of Climate Crisis

Autumn Term Climate Crisis and COP26

Devon Globe Trotters

Travelling in Tibet - Wednesday 21st April 2021 - https://youtu.be/9Rj_tVeIH98

Belize: Then and Now - Tuesday 18th May 2021 - https://youtu.be/CMJ9cIpbTac

Gown meets Town

Immigration Detention in the UK - Thursday 10th December 2020 https://youtu.be/4O-SIQoZJiA

Slavery and Revolution in Haiti - Tuesday 30th November 2021 https://youtu.be/iZ0UvAKAJfM

World at Six Talks

Fridays for Futures - Green New Deal  - Thursday 22nd October 2020 https://youtu.be/AAc0DJ3lX7E

Sustainable Beekeeping in Africa - Thursday 12th November 2020 https://youtu.be/rRXqx7KtnS8

The Impact of Period Poverty on Girls in Kenya - Thursday 26th November 2020 https://youtu.be/oY6CQqbAegU  

My Polish Heritage - Wednesday 12th May 2021  https://youtu.be/uI0z54lDs0M

An Introduction to Croatia - Thursday 27th May 2021 https://youtu.be/PpYGAGvJ3Vs

Girls' Education and the G7 - Thursday 10th June 2021 https://youtu.be/S2_Yima_z4A

Reporting on Ethiopia - Thursday 17th June 2021 https://youtu.be/jRZ3icFVnQQ

Oyana: a soap-making social enterprise - Wednesday 8th September 2021 https://youtu.be/ve6CmssTcRs


Celebrating Windrush in Devon 2021

Bananas, St Vincent and Fairtrade : Exploring the Fairtrade Primary Schools Conferences - Tuesday 9th March 2021 https://youtu.be/59KyfAeaAyY

Celebrating Fairtrade in the Caribbean - Thursday 4th March 2021 https://youtu.be/8k5XaXQjA4M

COVID, the NHS and its effects on the Windrush and BAME Community - Thursday 18th February 2021 https://youtu.be/VcyVYbwh0Rs

Christmas in Trinidad and Tobago - Thursday 28th January 2021 https://youtu.be/ObLqw2iGNew

Martin Luther King Jr, Rosa Parks and my family’s involvement in UK Civil Rights - Thursday 21st January 2021 https://youtu.be/77PzMTDPb-Q. There is a 'gap' in this  video where copyright materilal has been removed.

Our Wndrush Stories - 23rd March 2021 https://youtu.be/wDT-FJ2D0zA

Telling our Stories: Finding our Roots - Devon's Multicultural History

The Polish Navy in Okehampton - 23rd November 2020 https://youtu.be/cwqHXMXghno

In Conversation with ... stories from Bideford https://youtu.be/v16SnLUzH5E

Celebrating Black History Month in Devon: Start the Week Talks 2020

Telling Our Stories - Finding Our Roots:Devon’s Multi-Cultural History Monday 5th October 2020 https://youtu.be/NskTPD0Bi1k  

Celebrating Windrush in Devon:Our Windrush Stories Monday 12th October 2020  https://youtu.be/dMTfARNLFYQ

Is there still a place for Black History Month? Monday 19th October 2020  https://youtu.be/KaAnXKJS6cY  

Black Futures: A discussion about taking action and campaigning for change Monday 26th October 2020  https://youtu.be/igmWMYs_ALs

These trecordings of the Zoom sessions are unedited